• The Fee Is Free Unless You Win®.
  • America's Largest Injury Law Firm™
  • Protecting Families Since 1988
  • 20 Billion+ Won
  • 1,000+ Lawyers Nationwide

Free Case Evaluation

Tell us about your situation so we can get started fighting for you. We tailor each case to meet our clients' needs.
Results may vary depending on your particular facts and legal circumstances. ©2024 Morgan and Morgan, P.A. All rights reserved.
How to Collect PIP Insurance in Fort Myers, FL - insurance papers

Car Accident PIP Insurance Lawyer in Fort Myers, FL

Personal injury protection (PIP) coverage is a type of car insurance. It’s primarily used in no-fault states, where PIP insurance is required to cover drivers for their own medical expenses after a car accident.

In no-fault states like Florida, most drivers are responsible for their own medical costs after a car accident — regardless of who caused the collision. Liability insurance, which is required in every state, only covers damages to other drivers, their passengers, and pedestrians.

In other words, if you haven’t added personal injury protection coverage to your standard auto insurance policy, it may be a good idea to do so. Even if you do not live in a no-fault state, PIP offers great protection in the aftermath of a collision. You won’t be forced to file a lawsuit or negotiate a settlement to get the compensation you deserve.

At Morgan & Morgan, we know that investing in another insurance add-on is not always feasible. We want you to be able to make informed decisions about whether PIP coverage is right for your situation. 

Keep reading, and we will further explain personal injury protection coverage, what it includes, and how to collect the PIP payment you deserve after an auto accident.

Accidents happen every day in Fort Myers, FL. If you have been the victim of a reckless or negligent driver, call Morgan & Morgan to discuss your legal options. We offer free case evaluations for all new clients.

Where Is PIP Insurance Required?

We mentioned that no-fault states require PIP insurance coverage for all drivers. But the reality is just a bit more complicated than that. Twelve states are considered “no-fault,” but in three of those states (Pennsylvania, New Jersey, and Kentucky), you can opt out of the no-fault system. 

The twelve states that are considered “no-fault” are:

  • Florida ($10,000 minimum)
  • Hawaii ($10,000 minimum)
  • Kansas ($4,500 minimum)
  • Kentucky ($10,000 minimum)
  • Massachusetts ($8,000 minimum)
  • Michigan ($50,000 minimum)
  • Minnesota ($40,000 minimum)
  • New Jersey ($15,000 minimum)
  • New York ($50,000 minimum)
  • North Dakota ($30,000 minimum)
  • Pennsylvania ($5,000 minimum)
  • Utah ($3,000 minimum)

Again, in Pennsylvania, New Jersey, and Kentucky, consumers can reject the no-fault policy, but doing so requires the submission of a formal document.

Outside of those twelve states, PIP insurance is required by an additional four states:

  • Oregon
  • Maryland
  • Delaware
  • Arkansas

In the remaining states, each motorist has the option to include PIP coverage in their standard policy or not. So if you do not live in one of the states mentioned above, you are not required to pay for PIP coverage. Keep in mind that opting out of PIP insurance may leave you entirely dependent on your health insurance after a car accident.

If you want to discuss the benefits of PIP coverage in greater detail, get in touch with your insurance provider. And if you need help collecting a claim, Morgan & Morgan is always here to help. 

What You Should Know About Collecting PIP Insurance

After a Fort Myers car accident, you could be left with any number of injuries. Back pain, head trauma, broken bones, and other devastating injuries could leave you with mounting medical bills. 

That’s why it is so important for you to understand when and how to collect on your PIP insurance. Whether due to a back injury or the loss of a limb, personal injury protection insurance is designed to help you shoulder the financial burden of a car accident injury. 

Your policy should cover any medical expenses that are related to your accident. You should also receive coverage for your lost wages up to your personal injury protection policy limit. In some states, medical costs are split between the victim’s PIP provider and health insurance provider. 

Your medical fees should be covered unless the damages sustained exceed your policy's limit. If this applies to your situation, you should contact a Morgan & Morgan attorney immediately. We can help you explore your other options. 

What to Do if Your PIP Provider Is Uncooperative

Insurance companies are often driven by their own financial interests. Sometimes, victims find it difficult to obtain the full amount of coverage they deserve. If an insurance company has devalued or undermined your claim, you must contact an attorney. 

In fact, it may be wise to speak with an attorney prior to speaking with the provider. A simple statement like, “I’m doing okay,” can be used to downplay your injuries and the amount of compensation you deserve. A qualified attorney can help you avoid these types of pitfalls.

At Morgan & Morgan, we have worked with countless insurance adjusters. We know exactly how they work and what damaging tactics to avoid. If you want guidance through the claims process, give us a call. We can counter the tactics of your provider to help you receive the full payout you deserve. 

Find Out What Your PIP Policy Covers

What your PIP insurance covers in Fort Myers, FL, will depend upon your policy. However, generally speaking, you can expect coverage in these four areas, regardless of who was at fault for your collision and injuries:

Medical Expenses

The majority of your medical expenses should be covered by personal injury protection insurance. These might include medication, ambulance services, dental and orthodontic treatment, surgical care, prosthetic devices, and more. 

Lost Wages

When you have back pain or a more serious injury, you may find yourself unable to continue working for the time being. In those cases, PIP insurance will help you recover your lost income — so long as you can prove that the injury was caused by a car accident.

Household Services

Sometimes, your PIP insurance will cover household expenses that are related to your motor vehicle accident injury. If you are unable to perform housekeeping or must hire childcare, you may be able to make a claim for those expenses. 

Funeral Expenses

If the accident led to injuries that resulted in death, PIP insurance will sometimes cover the cost of a funeral. To discover if your loved one’s funeral expenses qualify for PIP coverage, contact a Morgan & Morgan attorney who can take a closer look at your policy and help you fight for what you deserve. 

When you're considering your PIP policy, it may also help to understand what is not covered. PIP insurance does not cover the damages made to your vehicle. It also does not cover vehicle theft, damages to other people’s property, or coverage to medical expenses that exceed your limits. 

If you want to expand the coverage you have access to, you might consider increasing your PIP limits or purchasing these insurance add-ons:

  • Property damage liability coverage
  • Comprehensive coverage
  • Collision coverage

If you are trying to decide whether to increase the limit on your PIP policy, it may help to take a look at your health insurance policy. You may find that you already have excellent coverage for post-accident injuries. 

Discover How a Morgan & Morgan Attorney Can Help You With Your Claim

Unfortunately, the claims process for PIP coverage can be quite nuanced and complicated. If you fail to adhere to the requirements of your provider, you could risk having your claim denied. We recommend that you acquire the help of an attorney to ensure that you receive the full amount of compensation you are owed.

Car insurance lawyers are skilled at complying with PIP provider policies. At Morgan & Morgan, we can help you file a timely claim and provide accurate and detailed information about the injuries you sustained in the accident. Whether you are experiencing a back injury or something more severe, we can help.

We can also help you gather evidence that proves your injury was caused by a car accident. That might include:

  • Copies of the police report
  • Statements from witnesses to the accident
  • Photographs of the scene or your injuries
  • Receipts and invoices related to the accident
  • Copies of your medical records and bills

You should never settle for less than you are owed. If your provider is being difficult or refusing to pay for your claim, please reach out. We understand how these providers work and will help you explore your legal options.

Scroll down for more

How it works

It's easy to get started.
The Fee Is Free™. Only pay if we win.

Results may vary depending on your particular facts and legal circumstances.

  • Step 1

    your claim

    With a free case evaluation, submitting your case is easy with Morgan & Morgan.

  • Step 2

    We take

    Our dedicated team gets to work investigating your claim.

  • Step 3

    We fight
    for you

    If we take on the case, our team fights to get you the results you deserve.

Client success
stories that inspire and drive change

Explore over 55,000 5-star reviews and 800 client testimonials to discover why people trust Morgan & Morgan.

Results may vary depending on your particular facts and legal circumstances. Based on Select nationwide reviews

  • Video thumbnail for 5l3q2e67j8
    Wistia video play button
  • Video thumbnail for yfe952tcop
    Wistia video play button
  • Video thumbnail for z1bqwg9hkl
    Wistia video play button
  • Video thumbnail for s5nb3hnvkv
    Wistia video play button
  • Video thumbnail for t4elibxene
    Wistia video play button
  • Video thumbnail for 5nr9efxqj3
    Wistia video play button
  • Video thumbnail for e8s1x6u5jp
    Wistia video play button


Get answers to commonly asked questions about our legal services and learn how we may assist you with your case.

  • How Long Will It Take to Receive Payment for a PIP Claim?

    Your PIP provider must pay out your claim within a reasonable amount of time. Usually, this means that you can expect to receive funds within 30 days. However, your provider will need detailed documentation regarding your back pain and other injuries. They must be given a reasonable amount of time to assess the claim and your documentation.

    Other factors, such as the location and severity of the accident, can affect the claims time frame as well. If you feel that the process is taking an unreasonable amount of time, contact an attorney.

  • Why Was My Personal Injury Protection Claim Denied?

    PIP providers do have the right to deny claims under certain circumstances. In fact, it happens more often than you might think. Your provider may deny your claim for any of the following reasons:

    • The damages are not covered by your policy
    • Your insurance has lapsed
    • You intentionally caused the accident
    • The accident occurred while you were committing a felony
    • The injuries are related to a pre-existing condition
    • You did not seek treatment within a reasonable time frame
    • The deadline for submitting a claim has passed
    • The treatment you received was not medically necessary

    Any of these scenarios may result in the denial or reduction of your claim. If you believe the denial is unfair, call our attorneys right away.

  • What Should I Do After an Accident in a No-Fault State?

    Immediately following the crash, you should obtain medical care for the resulting injuries. Your well-being should always be your first priority. Seeking prompt medical care will also allow you to document your injuries, which will help in filing a successful claim. From there, we recommend that you call an attorney.

  • How Much Will I Owe a Personal Injury Attorney?

    Reliable personal injury attorneys are compensated through contingency fees. At Morgan & Morgan, we only receive payment if and when our clients receive the compensation they deserve. At our initial consultation, we will discuss our contingency rates so you will be fully aware of the percentage we recover at the end of your case.

  • I Live in a No-Fault State; Can I File a Lawsuit Against the Other Driver?

    In no-fault states like Florida, you can file personal injury lawsuits after a car accident under certain conditions. Essentially, you must be able to prove that you have a permanent or debilitating injury. You may also file a lawsuit in the case of a wrongful death.

  • Do I Need an Attorney to File a Claim?

    You are not required to hire an attorney when filing a PIP insurance claim. However, for many of the reasons outlined on this page, we strongly recommend that you do so. If your provider gives any indication that the process will be difficult, call Morgan & Morgan right away.

  • Allow Morgan & Morgan to Help You After a Car Accident

    Morgan & Morgan is proud to employ a number of experienced and reliable attorneys in Fort Myers, Florida. If you are facing a difficult claims process or believe you should file a personal injury lawsuit, get in touch with our team right away. You can schedule your free case evaluation by filling out this convenient online form

  • Scroll down for more Load More