- FLSA: Learn About The Law That Protects Workers' Rights
- Pennsylvania (PA) Overtime Labor & Pay Laws
- Massachusetts (MA) Overtime Labor & Pay Laws
- Arkansas Overtime Labor & Pay Laws
- Alabama Overtime Labor & Pay Laws
- New York State Overtime Labor & Pay Laws
- Kentucky (KY) Overtime Labor & Pay Laws
- Tennessee (TN) Overtime Labor & Pay Laws
- Mississippi (MS) Overtime Labor & Pay Laws
- Georgia (GA) Overtime Labor & Pay Laws
- Florida PIP Insurance Litigation Attorneys
- Dental Malpractice Lawyers Florida
- Florida Tesla Accident Lawyers
- Florida Labor Law Attorneys
- Florida Wrongful Termination Lawyers
- Coronavirus Wrongful Termination in Florida
- Coronavirus Nursing Home Neglect in Florida
- COVID-19 Funeral Home Neglect in Florida
- Hurricane Insurance Claim Attorneys in Florida
- Florida Labor Laws
- Florida Traffic Laws
- What Forms Do I Need for My Workers’ Compensation Claim in Florida?
- What Is the Florida Discrimination Law Process?
- What Should I Do After a Water Park Injury in FL?
- How to Hire the Best Discrimination Lawyer in FL
- Florida Slip and Fall Settlements 2019
- Hire the Best Fire Injury Lawyers in FL
- How to Hire the Best Hurricane Damage Lawyer in Florida
- How to Find Golf Cart Accident Lawyers in Florida
- How to Find the Best FL Real Estate Dispute Attorney
- How Do You Qualify for Disability in Florida?
- Where Can I Find the Best Car Insurance Attorney in Florida?
- Death from Car Wreck in Florida: What Should I Do
- How to Handle a Diminished Car Accident Value Calculator in Florida
- What Is the Definition of Elder Abuse in Florida?
- How to Find the Best Arthritis and Disability Lawyers in Florida
- Are All Estates Required to Go Through Probate in Florida?
- What’s the Definition of “Diminished Value” in Florida?
- Florida Driving Laws: What Do I Need to Know
- Where Can I Find Help for My Product Liability Cases in Florida?
- What Is the Cost of Probate in Florida?
- What Is the Workers' Compensation Process in Florida?
- What Is the Average Cost of Homeowners Insurance in Florida?
- How to Report a Nursing Home in Florida
- What Is the Best Way to File a Diminished Value Claim in Florida?
- What Is the Average Lyft Accident Settlement Amount in Florida?
- What Does It Cost to Probate a Will in Florida?
- How Can I Apply for Disability in Florida?
- How to File a Complaint for a Breach of Contract in Florida
- What Is the Process for Recording a Will in Florida?
- Worker & Employee Rights Lawyers
- Unpaid Overtime Wages Lawyers
- Overtime Workers Comp for Disaster Relief
- Overtime Pay Calculator
- FLSA Liquidated Damages & Back Pay Lawyers
- FLSA Misclassification of Employees as Exempt Cases
- Health Care Workers May Face Wage Theft
- Independent Contractor Misclassification & Overtime Pay
- Minimum Wage Claim & Unpaid Wages Lawyers
Workers in our state of Florida must be paid the hourly state minimum wage by their employers for all hours worked. What is defined as an “employer,” “employee” and “wage” for Florida state purposes is the same as what is established under the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA.)
Florida Minimum Wage
Effective Jan. 1, 2017, our state’s minimum wage is $8.10 per hour. The Florida state minimum wage in 2016 was $8.05 per hour. This is compared to the federal minimum wage of $7.25 per hour, which was established July 24, 2009. State law requires the Florida Department of Economic Opportunity to calculate a minimum wage rate each year. The annual minimum wage is calculated based on the percentage increase in the federal Consumer Price Index for Urban Wage Earners and Clerical Workers in the South Region for the 12-month period before Sept. 1, 2016, according to the FDEO.
Florida Tipped Minimum Wage
Under the FLSA, employers may receive a tip credit towards the satisfaction of the minimum wage for tipped employee. Tipped employees in Florida must be paid a tipped minimum wage of $5.08 per hour, as of Jan. 1, 2017.
Florida’s Overtime Law
Non-exempt employees who work overtime in Florida are entitled to a pay rate of time-and-a-half for any hours worked over 40 in a single workweek.
Are You Being Denied Rightful Wages?
As Florida does not have state-specific laws regarding overtime, state employers must follow the overtime regulations set by federal wage and hour law. If you work in Florida and you believe you are not being paid the legal state minimum wage or overtime wages, your employer may be in violation of the FLSA. Contact us today by filling out our free, no-risk case evaluation form. You may be entitled to compensation if your employer is found to be committing wage theft.