- Florida PIP Insurance Litigation Attorneys
- Florida (FL) Overtime Labor & Pay Laws
- Dental Malpractice Lawyers Florida
- Florida Tesla Accident Lawyers
- Florida Labor Law Attorneys
- Florida Wrongful Termination Lawyers
- Coronavirus Wrongful Termination in Florida
- Coronavirus Nursing Home Neglect in Florida
- COVID-19 Funeral Home Neglect in Florida
- Hurricane Insurance Claim Attorneys in Florida
- Florida Labor Laws
- Florida Traffic Laws
- What Forms Do I Need for My Workers’ Compensation Claim in Florida?
- What Is the Florida Discrimination Law Process?
- What Should I Do After a Water Park Injury in FL?
- How to Hire the Best Discrimination Lawyer in FL
- Florida Slip and Fall Settlements 2019
- Hire the Best Fire Injury Lawyers in FL
- How to Hire the Best Hurricane Damage Lawyer in Florida
- How to Find Golf Cart Accident Lawyers in Florida
- How to Find the Best FL Real Estate Dispute Attorney
- How Do You Qualify for Disability in Florida?
- Where Can I Find the Best Car Insurance Attorney in Florida?
- Death from Car Wreck in Florida: What Should I Do
- How to Handle a Diminished Car Accident Value Calculator in Florida
- What Is the Definition of Elder Abuse in Florida?
- How to Find the Best Arthritis and Disability Lawyers in Florida
- Are All Estates Required to Go Through Probate in Florida?
- What’s the Definition of “Diminished Value” in Florida?
- Florida Driving Laws: What Do I Need to Know
- Where Can I Find Help for My Product Liability Cases in Florida?
- What Is the Cost of Probate in Florida?
- What Is the Workers' Compensation Process in Florida?
- What Is the Average Cost of Homeowners Insurance in Florida?
- How to Report a Nursing Home in Florida
- What Is the Best Way to File a Diminished Value Claim in Florida?
- What Does It Cost to Probate a Will in Florida?
- How Can I Apply for Disability in Florida?
- How to File a Complaint for a Breach of Contract in Florida
- What Is the Process for Recording a Will in Florida?
What Is the Average Lyft Accident Settlement Amount in Florida?
The average amount of a Lyft accident settlement in Florida varies depending on multiple factors. If you or your loved one has been involved in such an accident, you may be entitled to compensation. Here's everything you need to know about Lyft settlement amounts in Florida.
When involved in an accident caused by a Lyft driver, you may be entitled to up to $1 million as compensation. Most plaintiffs receive anywhere between $500000 to $1 million. However, the exact amount varies depending on the circumstances surrounding the accident.
Who Should Be Held Responsible for a Lyft Accident?
Generally, Lyft passengers are considered innocent bystanders to the accident. On the other hand, Lyft drivers are regarded as common carriers. For this reason, they owe their passengers a duty of care, just like other drivers of commercial vehicles.
In Florida, rideshare drivers are required to have personal auto insurance given that there are times when they will be driving while logged out from the Lyft app. In that case, even if the driver works for Lyft, you may not be able to file a claim against the company's insurer because the driver was not logged in to the app when the accident occurred. Instead, you'll need to file a claim against the driver's personal auto insurance provider.
Most Florida drivers are required to have at least $10,000 worth of personal injury protection (PIP) coverage and an additional $10,000 for property damage liability.
PIP coverage takes care of medical expenses that arise from an auto accident. On the other hand, property damage liability coverage covers property damages caused by the accident.
Florida laws require rideshare drivers to carry higher insurance policies, given that they drive commercial vehicles. This also explains why compensation for Lyft accidents is way higher than those covered by personal auto insurance.
Auto insurance laws in Florida also cater to different scenarios involving Lyft drivers or other rideshare companies in general. This is done to ensure that every situation is covered by at least one policy, given that accidents can be unpredictable.
Here's an example of an unexpected accident involving a Lyft driver and a passenger.
Suppose a Lyft driver causes an accident when their rideshare app is on but not assigned to any passenger. In that case, Lyft may still be required to provide compensation for the injury under Florida laws.
The compensation may cover the following damages:
Lyft may be required to pay up to $50,000 per person as compensation for bodily injuries caused by their driver or $100,000 per accident.
Lyft may pay up to $25,000 as compensation for property damage caused by their negligent driver.
Remember, the coverage explained above applies only when the Lyft app is on, but no passenger is assigned to the driver just yet.
Now let's discuss a scenario where the app is on and assigned to a passenger.
When a Lyft driver causes an accident when the app is on and assigned to a passenger, the spectrum of compensation changes completely. In that case, the third-party liability insurance coverage takes full effect, meaning you may be eligible for up to $1 million as compensation for bodily injuries or property damage caused by the accident.
How Much Is My Lift Accident Worth?
The best way to find out how much your Lyft accident is worth is by consulting a Morgan & Morgan car accident attorney.
Here's an overview of what such a case could be worth if you or your loved one has been involved in a Lyft accident.
Two main factors determine the amount of compensation you may be entitled to after such an accident. The first one is the extent of your injuries.
Generally, the more severe the injury, the higher the settlement amount. This is because you may be eligible for compensation for:
- loss of income;
- loss of earning capacity;
- doctors visits;
- vehicle repair or replacement;
- counseling and therapy;
- prescription medications;
- ambulance costs;
- medical expenses, and;
- pain and suffering;
Although rare, the court may award you punitive damages if it has been established that the Lyft driver's behavior was extremely reckless. Punitive damages are usually awarded as a punishment and a lesson to other individuals or entities.
As mentioned earlier, the driver's activity at the time of the accident is the second factor that determines the amount of compensation you may be eligible for.
Lyft Accident Caused by an Uninsured or Underinsured Motorist
If you are a Lyft driver or passenger involved in an accident, a car accident attorney will consider multiple factors to determine the amount of compensation you need and deserve. For instance, if the lift driver was driving you to your destination, the Lyft application is expected to be on. This means that you may be eligible for compensation under Lyft's liability insurance policy, which goes up to $1 million.
There is also another scenario worth considering.
If the Lyft driver was not at fault for the accident, you might need to file a claim against the other driver's insurance company. However, if the at-fault driver does not have insurance or their insurance coverage limit is not enough to compensate you for damages suffered from the accident, you may file a claim against Lyft.
But, you shouldn't expect such a claim to be approved instantly by Lyft's insurance provider. This is because of Florida's complex legal processes and definitions regarding rideshare car accidents. You need to contact an experienced car accident attorney from Morgan & Morgan for best results.
Speaking of contacting a Florida car accident attorney, you must understand the steps to take after such an accident, as explained below.
What to Do After a Lyft Accident in Florida
After a Lyft accident in Florida, the steps you take could make or break your case. This is because insurance companies will not part with their money without fighting. Instead, they will try to find every legal loophole to avoid taking financial responsibility for the accident.
However, when you have facts on your side and follow the correct procedures after the accident, no amount of intimidation will stop you from fighting for what you are entitled to as compensation. Here's what to do after a Lyft accident in Florida.
Contact the Police
Most individuals involved in a car accident underestimate the importance of contacting local law enforcement. Failure to contact the police could be the one mistake that breaks your case. When you contact the police, you will file a Traffic Collision Report. This report comes in handy when proving that the accident indeed occurred. A police report documents the details of the accident, such as:
- names of parties involved;
- date of the accident;
- location of the accident;
- amount of damage caused;
- description of the accident;
- witness accounts;
- contact information of parties involved, and so on.
This report makes it even more difficult for the defense to dismiss the accident.
Seek Medical Attention
You need to see a doctor as soon as possible. Remember, your health comes first. Secondly, not seeking medical attention could mean that you were not actually injured during the accident. But this is not necessarily true; some people don't like hospital visits. In fact, very few people do.
But when it comes to personal injury law, you cannot argue your case without facts. For example, if you got injured, the defense will ask for proof of medical records. Some may even try to link your injuries to a pre-existing condition.
Suppose you have a history of back problems and then suffer a spinal cord injury after the accident; it may be difficult to prove that the spinal cord injury was part of your back problems. However, having a medical report can help prove otherwise.
Document the Accident
Take pictures of the accident scene if possible. While taking the pictures, focus on the surroundings first and then narrow down to the damages caused by the accident. As mentioned before, the defense will try to find ways to dispute or dismiss your claim, but it may be difficult to do so when you have sufficient evidence.
Collect the Other Driver's Information
Even though the other driver's information may be readily available in the police report, there are certain isolated cases where the police may not be able to trace the other driver right away. This happens mostly in hit-and-run accidents. If you can, take the other driver's license plate number, their driver's license, or insurance information.
Know Who to Speak to and What to Say
Insurance companies usually try to contact victims of accidents caused by their insured right after the accident. They do this to prevent them from talking to an attorney about the accident. While insurance agents may sound friendly over the phone, you need to remember that they will always serve their employer's interest, not yours.
For this reason, avoid speaking with any insurance agent or representative about your injuries. However, if they contact you about the accident, you can provide general information about the time, date, and location.
Insurance claims adjusters will always find ways to reduce your claim or dismiss it completely. They do this by acquiring your side of the story and then manipulating it to serve their employer's interest. However, when you have an experienced personal injury attorney by your side, you can simply ask the insurance company to talk to your attorney if they have any questions about the accident.
Consider the Time Factor
After a car accident in Florida, you may be eligible for personal injury compensation. However, under PIP coverage, you are required to seek medical attention within 14 days of the accident. Most people do not have this kind of information at their fingertips. They only find out days later when it is too late to file such a claim.
This also explains why it is crucial to consult a car accident attorney right after an accident or as soon as possible. Such an attorney understands the deadlines for filing car accident claims and will fight for your rights as you focus on recovering from the accident.
How Morgan & Morgan Rideshare Attorneys Can Help
When involved in a Lyft accident in Florida, the last thing you want is to hire any ordinary personal injury attorney. Instead, you need to talk to an experienced rideshare attorney with the kind of experience and resources needed to fight for your rights. As we've discussed before, claims involving rideshare accidents are complicated.
Things get even more complicated when multiple insurance companies are involved. You can be sure that no insurance company will willingly step up and admit that their client was at fault for the accident. Therefore, you need an attorney who will do whatever it takes to hold them accountable.
That's where Morgan & Morgan rideshare lawyers come in. Whether the Lyft driver or the other driver was at fault for your injury, our experienced attorneys know how to navigate the complex legal process to ensure you get the compensation you need and deserve.
With over $10 billion recovered from various personal injury claims and at least $120 million in car accident claims, our law firm has a solid reputation for providing the best legal representation for injury victims all over the United States. Some of these accidents come with life-changing effects, and you do not have to go through the pain alone.
Insurance companies make billions of dollars every year, and you shouldn't have to pay for something you're already covered for. Talk to us at 877-515-6977 or fill out our free consultation form online, and we will get back to you as soon as possible.