Georgia State Workers Compensation Laws Rules & Regulations
A workplace injury can have lasting effects on your health and well-being. What’s more, it can potentially derail your career and place you in financial jeopardy. The good news is, Georgia has workers’ compensation laws in place to protect people who get hurt or sick on the job. Here’s what you need to know about workers’ compensation laws in the Peach State.
What Is Workers’ Compensation?
Workers’ compensation insurance provides partial wage replacement and other benefits to employees who get injured or sick on the job. The benefits owed depend on the specifics of the injury or illness and what impact it has on the victim’s ability to work. In Georgia, companies who employ three or more full- or part-time employees are required by law to carry this insurance.
What Are Disability Benefits?
If you must spend time away from your job for a work-related injury or illness, you may be eligible for disability benefits such as:
- Temporary Total Disability: Employees who are unable to work for seven days due to a workplace injury may collect temporary total disability (TTD) benefits. These benefits cover two-thirds of your average weekly earnings before the injury up to a maximum that’s adjusted annually.
- Temporary Partial Disability: If you’re able to work but with restrictions — such as reduced hours — you may be eligible for temporary partial disability (TPD). TPD coverage provides two-thirds of the difference between your wages prior to and after your injury. If, for example, you earned $900 before getting hurt and now earn $600, you can receive $200 ($900 - $600 = $300; $300 x 2/3 = $200). As of July 1, 2017, TPD benefits maxed out at $383 per week.
- Permanent Total Disability: After you’re through with your medical treatment, you will undergo a doctor’s evaluation for permanent total disability (PTD). If they determine that you have a permanent disability, you’ll continue to receive weekly payments at the TTD rate for the rest of your life.
- Permanent Partial Disability: If you have a permanent partial disability (PPD), you may receive scheduled or unscheduled awards:
- Scheduled: A scheduled loss-of-use award is available for disabilities in the eyes, ears, and extremities. You’ll earn two-thirds of your average weekly wages for a number of weeks, determined by the state schedule.
- Unscheduled: If the injured body part does not appear on the schedule, you may receive an unscheduled award based on a disability rating for up to 300 weeks.
What Else Is Covered?
Under Georgia workers’ compensation laws, you may also be eligible for benefits such as:
- Medical costs
- Reimbursements for travel to and from medical appointments
- Vocational rehabilitation if you are unable to return to your normal line of work
- Death benefits for the spouse, children, and other dependents of a worker who has died
- Funeral expenses
How Can a Workers’ Compensation Attorney Help?
Although workers’ compensation laws in Georgia may appear straightforward, employers and their insurance carriers often do what they can to deny benefits. For example, the insurance company may argue that your injury was not work-related. Morgan & Morgan attorneys are well versed in handling these matters and achieving the best possible outcome. Our legal experts can:
- Communicate with the insurance company
- Gather critical medical evidence in support of your claim
- Negotiate a favorable settlement on your behalf
- Represent you at your hearing
- Appeal a claim that’s been denied
Contact Morgan & Morgan
It’s imperative that you understand your rights and how Georgia’s workers’ compensation rules and regulations apply to you. Let the highly skilled attorneys at Morgan & Morgan help you recover the benefits you are owed. Get started now by filling out a free case evaluation.