- $13 Billion+ Won
- 800+ Lawyers Nationwide
- The Fee is FreeTM, Only Pay If We Win
- America’s Largest Injury Law Firm
- Protecting Families Since 1988
Macon, GA Overtime
With well over 150,000 residents, Macon is anything but a small town. With such a large population, and seeing as the city is a major tourist attraction, employers are looking to hire a fair amount. While the job industry may be booming, unfortunately, in some cases workers may be suffering behind the scenes. Among other concerns, they might be the victims of wage theft if their employer refuses to pay them overtime.
Our army of lawyers are ready to help you fight for full and fair compensation. If you or someone you know believes they have been a victim of wage theft, we may be able to help. To contact our Macon office, fill out our risk-free case review form today. One of our wage theft attorneys will be happy to review your case.
Overtime Laws In Georgia
In Georgia, there are no specific laws governing overtime pay; as a result, they fall under the guidelines of The Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA). Under the FLSA, employers are required to pay, unless specifically exempt, their employees working over 40 hours per week at a rate of 1.5 times their regular hourly rate.
Some of those exempt from overtime pay under the FLSA are individuals who earn more than half of their wages from commissions and average at least 1.5 times the minimum wage for every hour worked.
With over 30 years of experience and 600+ attorneys, we have the resources to take on the biggest bullies in America. If your employer has denied you fair wages, contact our Macon office today to see how we can help.
How Do I Know If I Am Being Denied Overtime?
Your employer may not always have your best interest at heart. They might deny you wages using deceitful tactics. For example:
Company Policies That Reduce Your Work Hours
Some employers may choose to enforce specific company policies that may hinder your ability to claim overtime pay. Policies may include:
- “No overtime” policy
- Unpaid meal breaks
- “Off-the-clock” policies
- Failure to pay for training or hours worked from home.
Despite the policies put in place by your employer, if you are not legally exempt from overtime pay and have worked over 40 hours in a week, you may be entitled to recover your unpaid wages.
Misclassification of Employees
Your employer may attempt or choose to misclassify you in order to avoid paying overtime. There are two classifications for employees: exempt and non-exempt. Employers are legally required to pay non-exempt employees overtime for all hours worked beyond 40 in a week. For more information on those exempt from overtime pay, click here.
What Are My Next Steps?
To better understand if you are a victim of wage theft, use our easy to follow, four-step Overtime pay calculator to see where you stand. Then contact our Macon office.
At Morgan & Morgan, we have a proven track record of fighting for our clients’ full and fair compensation after they’ve fallen victim to wage theft. Fill out our free, no-risk case evaluation form to get started.