- Minimum Wage Claim & Unpaid Wages Lawyers
- Unpaid Overtime Wages Lawyers
- Overtime Pay Calculator
- FLSA Misclassification of Employees as Exempt Cases
- Worker & Employee Rights Lawyers
- FLSA: Learn About The Law That Protects Workers' Rights
- Pennsylvania (PA) Overtime Labor & Pay Laws
- Massachusetts (MA) Overtime Labor & Pay Laws
- Arkansas Overtime Labor & Pay Laws
- Alabama Overtime Labor & Pay Laws
- New York State Overtime Labor & Pay Laws
- Kentucky (KY) Overtime Labor & Pay Laws
- Tennessee (TN) Overtime Labor & Pay Laws
- Mississippi (MS) Overtime Labor & Pay Laws
- Florida (FL) Overtime Labor & Pay Laws
- FLSA Liquidated Damages & Back Pay Lawyers
- Independent Contractor Misclassification & Overtime Pay
- Overtime Workers Comp for Disaster Relief
- Health Care Workers May Face Wage Theft
- Georgia Wrongful Termination Lawyers
- Georgia Labor Laws
- Coronavirus (COVID-19) Wrongful Termination in Georgia
- Coronavirus Nursing Home Neglect in Georgia
- COVID-19 Funeral Home Neglect in Georgia
- Hurricane Insurance Claim Attorneys in Georgia
- How to Hire the Best Discrimination Lawyer in GA
- How to Hire the Best Fire Injury Lawyers in GA
- How to Find the Best Real Estate Dispute Attorney in Georgia
- What Is a False Imprisonment Tort?
- How to Find the Best Arthritis and Disability Lawyers in Georgia
- What Is the Statute of Limitations for Wrongful Death in Georgia?
- Who Is the Best Personal Injury Firm in Georgia?
- How Should I Handle a Car Accident in Georgia?
- Where Can I Find the Best Rental Car Accident Lawyers in Georgia?
- How to Report a Nursing Home in Georgia
- What Does It Mean to Give a Police Officer False Information?
- What Is the Statute of Limitations on Medical Bills in Georgia?
Georgia Overtime Labor & Pay
Because Georgia does not have state-specific laws regarding overtime and minimum wage, Georgia employers must follow federal wage and hour laws as established by the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA.)
Federal Minimum Wage
As of July 24, 2009, the federal minimum wage was established at $7.25 per hour. If a state does not has their own minimum wage, like Georgia, employers must adhere to the federal minimum wage when paying employees.
Federal Tipped Minimum Wage
Under the FLSA, employers may receive a tip credit towards the satisfaction of the minimum wage for tipped employee. The minimum wage for tipped employees is set at $2.13 per hour.
Federal Overtime Law
Non-exempt employees are entitled to a pay rate of time-and-a-half for any hours worked over 40 in a single workweek. Employers who fail to pay this overtime rate may be in violation of the FLSA.
Are You Being Denied Rightful Wages?
You deserve to be paid for all hours worked. If you are a Georgia employee and your employer fails to pay the federal minimum wage or overtime rate for hours worked over 40 per workweek, you don’t have to stand for it. Contact us today by filling out our free, no-risk case evaluation form. You may be entitled to compensation if your employer is found to be committing wage theft.