- FLSA: Learn About The Law That Protects Workers' Rights
- Pennsylvania (PA) Overtime Labor & Pay Laws
- Massachusetts (MA) Overtime Labor & Pay Laws
- Arkansas Overtime Labor & Pay Laws
- Alabama Overtime Labor & Pay Laws
- New York State Overtime Labor & Pay Laws
- Kentucky (KY) Overtime Labor & Pay Laws
- Mississippi (MS) Overtime Labor & Pay Laws
- Georgia (GA) Overtime Labor & Pay Laws
- Florida (FL) Overtime Labor & Pay Laws
- Tennessee Wrongful Termination Lawyers
- Tennessee Labor Laws
- How Do You Qualify for Disability in Tennessee?
- What Are the Debt Collection Laws in Tennessee?
- What Are the Rights of Employees in Tennessee?
- Statute of Limitations for a Personal Injury Lawsuit in Tennessee
- Worker & Employee Rights Lawyers
- Unpaid Overtime Wages Lawyers
- Overtime Workers Comp for Disaster Relief
- Overtime Pay Calculator
- FLSA Liquidated Damages & Back Pay Lawyers
- FLSA Misclassification of Employees as Exempt Cases
- Health Care Workers May Face Wage Theft
- Independent Contractor Misclassification & Overtime Pay
- Minimum Wage Claim & Unpaid Wages Lawyers
Tennessee (TN) Overtime Labor & Pay
Because Tennessee does not have state-specific laws regarding overtime and minimum wage, Tennessee employers must follow federal wage and hour laws as established by the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA).
Federal Minimum Wage
As of July 24, 2009, the federal minimum wage was established at $7.25 per hour. If a state does not have its own minimum wage, like Tennessee, employers must adhere to the federal minimum wage when paying employees.
Federal Tipped Minimum Wage
Under the FLSA, employers may receive a tip credit towards the satisfaction of the minimum wage for tipped employee. The federal minimum wage for tipped employees or for tipped employees in states without minimum wage laws, is set at $2.13 per hour.
Federal Overtime Minimum Wage
Non-exempt employees are entitled to a pay rate of time-and-a-half for any hours worked over 40 in a single workweek. Employers who fail to pay this overtime rate may be in violation of the FLSA.
Wage Theft Is Unacceptable
Employees deserve to be paid the wages they have worked hard for. If you are a Tennessee employee and your employer fails to pay federal minimum wage, or does not pay the overtime rate for hours worked over 40 per workweek, wage theft may be taking place.
Contact us today by filling out our free, no-risk case evaluation form. You may be entitled to compensation if your employer is found to be violating the FLSA.