Memphis Traffic Accident Reports80 Monroe Ave., Suite 900
Memphis, TN 38103
- The Fee Is Free™. Only pay if we win.
- America's Largest Injury Law Firm
- Protecting Families Since 1988
- $15 Billion+ Won
- 800+ Lawyers Nationwide
Free Case Evaluation
The attorneys featured above are licensed in Florida. For a full list of attorneys in your state please visit our attorney page.
Memphis Traffic Accident Reports
You may be curious about how many accidents happen in Memphis, especially if you’ve recently been involved in an accident. Likewise, you may also be concerned about getting Memphis traffic accident reports after you've been seriously injured in an accident. Getting a crash report is an important component of notifying your insurance company about an accident and may even become a component of a personal injury claim.
If someone else caused your accident and you have been left to deal with the consequences, know that you don’t have to deal with the aftermath of this unfortunate situation alone. Hiring an experienced and qualified traffic accident lawyer at Morgan & Morgan can help you to recover the compensation you need. Our team can handle the complicated parts of the process so that you can focus your time and energy on your recovery and moving forward with your life.
Many people who live through a traffic accident have a broad range of injuries that will impact them in both the short and the long term. Some will have catastrophic or disabling injuries that will continue to impact them for many years to come. If you have experienced any of these outcomes, are beginning to receive medical bills, and notice the financial strain your family has been put under due to someone's negligent behavior, you need to have an experienced and qualified personal injury lawyer step into your case immediately.
If you don't yet have a Memphis traffic accident report for a crash you were involved in, request one as soon as possible for insurance purposes, as well as to file a legal claim against a responsible party. It's only one piece of evidence, but it's an important one to get in your hands and to your personal injury lawyer as soon as you can.
Recent verdicts & settlements
Scroll down for more
How it works
It's easy to get started.
The Fee Is Free™. Only pay if we win.
Results may vary depending on your particular facts and legal circumstances.
With a free case evaluation, submitting your case is easy with Morgan & Morgan.
Our dedicated team gets to work investigating your claim.
If we take on the case, our team fights to get you the results you deserve.
stories that inspire and drive change
Results may vary depending on your particular facts and legal circumstances. Based on Select nationwide reviews
Get answers to commonly asked questions about our legal services and learn how we may assist you with your case.
Morgan & Morgan
How Do I Get a Memphis Traffic Accident Report?
To obtain a Memphis traffic accident report, you can go online to tn.gov to obtain a crash report and pay a $10 fee with a credit card. You will need to share your last name, the reporting agency, the driver's license number, and the date of the accident, as well as one of the following: a case or tracking number, license plate, or VIN. You can also go to a Tennessee Highway Patrol district office to get an accident or crash report if the THP investigated the scene. Always determine whether a City Police Department, the county sheriff's office, or the THP was involved in your accident.
If the Tennessee Highway Patrol is the holder of your Memphis traffic accident report, you can purchase a copy of the crash report for a fee of $4 and these are available typically seven days after the date of the accident by finding your THP district office. You can visit the office in person or request this information through the mail.
If another law enforcement agency outside of the THP, however, investigated the crash, you would need to contact that agency directly and you will need to share the agency tracking number, the names of the drivers involved, the county in which the crash occurred and the date of the crash. If you are requesting a THP Memphis traffic accident report, you would go to the district four office. There are other offices located in Knoxville, Chattanooga, Nashville, Cookeville, Fall Branch, Lawrenceburg, and Jackson, but the Memphis office handles crashes that occurred in counties such as:
You can also mail a money order cashier's check or personal business check in the amount of $4 to the Tennessee Department of Safety and Homeland Security Financial Responsibility Division, PO Box 945 in Nashville, TN 37202.
When Do I Have to Notify a Law Enforcement Agency of My Accident?
If you've been hurt in an accident in Memphis, you may need to consult with an attorney as soon as possible. You may also need to file an accident report. Even in those cases in which you're not sure if an accident report is filed, it is helpful to get one filed as soon as possible so that the facts of the case are very clear for everyone involved. There are some circumstances in which you must notify the nearest law enforcement agency in Tennessee. These include:
- When the property damage is greater than $50.
- When the accident happened in a city that requires all accidents to be reported.
- When it is required by your insurance company.
- When any person is killed or injured.
You have 20 days from the date of the accident to file a driver or owner accident report when someone is killed or injured or when property damage is greater than $400. Tennessee laws do not require you to report all accidents, however, there are very low property damage thresholds which means that practically every car crash will need some type of reporting.
What Is a Personal Accident Report?
An additional reporting requirement applies in Tennessee if the accident causes more than $400 in property damage or causes physical injuries or death. This must be done within 20 days, and this is often challenging for accident victims because they have been seriously hurt and may still be dealing with their medical injuries. Personal Identification that is shared in a Tennessee vehicle accident report is not available to the general public and remains confidential. However, those parties who are listed as being involved in the accident will be eligible to access the report. Reports are required regardless of who was allegedly at fault for the accident and may need to be required based on the specifics listed above outside of any report filed by an investigating officer.
Failing to submit a personal accident report with the Department of Safety can lead to a driver's license suspension and non-resident operating privileges of a person involved with an accident. Use the department's official accident report form which formally requests details about the vehicle owner, the driver, and the vehicle's insurance. You are not required to provide any details about other people involved in the accident.
You may also need a copy of your accident report in Memphis when you are filing a personal injury lawsuit. The support of an experienced and qualified lawyer is very helpful in moving forward with a claim like this. Your attorney can help you obtain Memphis traffic accident reports so that you can begin to tell the story of how the accident happened and why another driver is responsible for your injuries. Being hurt is a serious issue for many victims and it is important to recognize how fault is determined in Tennessee courts.
How to Understand Tennessee's Fault Rules?
Tennessee is a modified comparative fault state. This means that if you are found to be less than 50% responsible for an accident, you are still entitled to recover damages for compensation. However, if it is determined that you are partially at fault, your compensation will be cut down by that percentage amount. If your total damages amount to $10,000 but the court determines that you're 20% at fault, the $10,000 will therefore be reduced by 20% and you will only receive $8,000.
If the other side argues that you're fully or mostly at fault for the accident, you might not be able to recover any compensation. This is a common defense tactic in these kinds of cases, highlighting just how important it is to work only with a lawyer who has been in these cases before. Crafting a strong strategy to showcase how your life has changed is not always easy, but working with the right attorney increases your chances of success.
There are statutes of limitations in Tennessee, meaning that you must take action quickly to file recovery for compensation. For those accidents associated with personal injury, you have one year to file your lawsuit and if your accident only involves property damage or vehicle damage, you have a maximum of three years. Set aside time to meet with the experienced and qualified Memphis traffic accident reports lawyers at Morgan & Morgan. We will be there to guide you through the legal process and answer your questions each step of the way.
What Other Evidence Do I Need for My Claim?
Your traffic accident report may be one component of your lawsuit, but it's not the only piece of evidence you may need. As your personal injury lawyer can explain to you, it is important to begin collecting evidence as soon as possible after the accident happened.
If you can, take photos and videos at the scene of the accident and gather contact details for the other drivers involved. It can be challenging to remember these details after the fact, especially if you suffer any head injuries. Your lawyer may also help you to collect additional evidence such as accident reconstruction details or working with expert witnesses to retell the story of how the accident happened. This will all be at the discretion of your lawyer, so you need someone ready to jump into action immediately to prepare your case.
Contact Morgan & Morgan for Help
If you’ve been injured in a car accident due to someone else’s negligence, you may be entitled to compensation for your pain and suffering, damage to your vehicle, medical bills, and even lost income if you missed work due to your injuries.
After you’ve collected your Memphis traffic accident report, contact Morgan & Morgan for a free, no-obligation case evaluation to learn more about your legal options to get what you deserve to help you move forward with your life.