Wreck in Murfreesboro, TN1103 NW Broad Street, Suite E,
Murfreesboro, TN 37129
- The Fee Is Free™. Only pay if we win.
- America's Largest Injury Law Firm
- Protecting Families Since 1988
- 20 Billion+ Won
- 1,000+ Lawyers Nationwide
Free Case Evaluation
The attorneys featured above are licensed in Florida. For a full list of attorneys in your state please visit our attorney page.
Wreck in Murfreesboro, TN
According to data from the state's Department of Safety and Homeland Security, car accidents in Tennessee are getting out of hand. In Rutherford County, home of Murfreesboro, at least 14 people have died so far in 2022. In 2021, 28 people died in the county alone due to car accidents, and 2,404 others survived with serious injuries.
If you or your loved one has been injured in a car wreck in this part of Tennessee, you may be entitled to compensation. The same applies if you lose a loved one.
Get answers to commonly asked questions about our legal services and learn how we may assist you with your case.
Morgan & Morgan
What Should I Do if Injured in a Wreck in Murfreesboro?
Here is what to do if you have been injured in a car wreck in Murfreesboro:
- Call 911 immediately and request a police officer at the scene
- Request an ambulance if you or your loved one's life is in danger
- If you have not suffered life-threatening injuries, you will still need to be checked by a doctor as soon as possible, preferably no later than 14 days after the accident
- Take photos and videos of the accident, including the contact information of witnesses, if any
- Do not sign anything from the insurance company or accept responsibility for the accident
- Do not say you feel okay, especially before getting checked by a doctor
- Contact an experienced car wreck lawyer in Murfreesboro
The above steps are just an overview of what to do if you find yourself in such a situation. The exact steps you need to follow will depend on the nature of your accident. Contact a seasoned attorney whenever in doubt.
What Would Happen if I Lost a Loved One in a Car Wreck?
It is painful to lose a loved one in a car wreck, or any other accident for that matter. At Morgan and Morgan, we understand what you are going through, and that is why we are here to help. When you lose a loved one in a car wreck, you may be able to file a wrongful death claim against the party responsible for the death.
What Damages Can I Recover From a Car Wreck Claim or Lawsuit?
The kind of damages you may be able to recover usually depends on the details of your case. That said, most accident victims can recover compensatory damages such as economic and non-economic damages. If you file a lawsuit and the court determines that the other party was grossly negligent, leading to your injuries or the death of a loved one, the judge or jury might award you punitive damages.
How Much Can the Court Award in Punitive Damages in Murfreesboro, TN?
In Tennessee, you can recover up to two times the compensatory damages or $500,000 as punitive damages, whichever is greater. However, it is important to note that these damages are not guaranteed. The court reserves the right to award or not to award punitive damages. In addition, to even stand a chance of winning such damages, you must prove that the other party was grossly negligent, malicious, reckless, fraudulent, or intentional.
Where Do I File a Claim After a Car Wreck in Murfreesboro?
If injured in a car wreck in this city, the law requires you to file a claim with the other party's insurance company, that is, if they were responsible for the accident. This is because Tennessee is an at-fault state regarding car accidents, meaning the party 'at-fault' for the accident is responsible for compensating the victims through their insurance company.
What Happens if the Other Driver Does Not Have Enough Insurance?
If the other driver does not have enough insurance to cover your losses, you may still have other options to consider. For example, if you have personal injury protection, you may be able to file a claim with your own auto insurance company.
Bear in mind that Tennessee has some minimum car insurance coverage every driver should have. They include:
- $25,000 for bodily injury per person
- $50,000 for bodily injury per accident
- $15,000 for property damage per accident
Therefore, consider speaking with a car wreck attorney if your losses exceed these limits. The attorney will review other insurance policies you might have purchased to determine whether you are covered. If not, they will review the specifics of the accident to establish whether more than one party might be responsible for your injuries.
What Happens if I am Partly at Fault for the Accident?
Do not accept liability for the accident even if you feel you are partly responsible. This is because whatever you say after the car wreck incident could be used against you by the insurance company. In some cases, accident victims accept liability when they are actually not responsible for the accident. Such a confession could be all it takes to dismiss an entire claim.
To put things into perspective, let's briefly discuss how the comparative negligence system works in Tennessee.
What Is Comparative Negligence in a Car Wreck Case?
Comparative negligence is a legal concept that assigns fault to parties based on their contribution to the accident.
What Negligence System Does Tennessee Use?
There are many different types of comparative negligence; Tennessee uses modified comparative negligence. Under this system, one party cannot recover any damages if they are 50% or more responsible for the accident. In other words, to recover damages, you must be 49% or less responsible for the accident. This means that the other party would be 51% responsible for the accident, carrying the overall burden.
What Happens if Both Parties Are Equally Responsible for the Accident?
In Tennessee, if the court rules that both parties are equally responsible for the accident, they cannot recover damages from each other. The argument here is that it makes no sense to claim damages from the other party if you are also equally responsible.
What Is the Statute of Limitations for Filing a Car Accident Lawsuit in Tennessee?
The statute of limitations for filing a car accident lawsuit in Tennessee is one year from the date of the accident. The same applies if someone dies due to an accident. The only difference is that the case will shift from its current status as a car accident lawsuit to a wrongful death lawsuit and that the statute of limitations will begin to count from the day of the death. Remember, in a wrongful death claim, the date of death might differ from the injury date.
Do I Need to Report a Car Wreck in Tennessee?
Yes, you must report the accident within 20 days if:
- Anyone was killed or injured
- The accident caused property damage worth more than $1500
- The damage resulted in damage to state or local government property worth $400 or more
Where Can I Report an Accident in Tennessee?
You can file the accident report via the Tennessee Department of Safety and Homeland Security.
Do I Need a Car Wreck Attorney?
If you or your loved one has been injured in a car wreck in Murfreesboro, TN, having an attorney represent you can positively impact your case. This is because car wreck cases are complex whether you are dealing with the state, local government, the other party's insurance company, or your own.
An experienced Murfreesboro car accident attorney can:
- Help review your case to determine whether it is valid
- Collect important evidence to support your case
- Help you obtain the services you need after an accident, such as medical treatment, physical therapy, counseling, etc
- Help you understand your rights as an accident victim
- Evaluate your damages
- Identify the party responsible for your injuries
- File a claim or lawsuit against the party responsible for your injuries
- Negotiate a reasonable settlement for you or your loved one
What Should I Look for in a Murfreesboro Car Wreck Attorney?
When looking for a car wreck attorney in this city, consider the following factors:
Experience: You need an attorney with experience handling these kinds of cases. If they lack experience, they might not settle for what you truly deserve as compensation for your injuries.
Reputation: It is advisable to work with an attorney or law firm with a good reputation. For example, Morgan and Morgan is known for being the largest and most powerful personal injury law firm in the United States.
Resources: A law firm or attorney with access to powerful legal resources will likely fight for you better than those without these resources. The latter will likely fail to build a strong case. This could either jeopardize the entire claim or reduce the amount you may be able to recover as compensation for your injuries.
Results: Do not take chances or gamble with your claim. You need an attorney or law firm with proven results. For instance, at Morgan and Morgan, we have helped our clients recover more than $20 billion as compensation for various injuries since 1988.
Can I Afford a Morgan and Morgan Car Wreck Attorney?
Yes, you can. We do not charge any upfront fees. Instead, we charge our clients on a contingency basis, meaning you do not owe us anything if we do not win.
How Do I Contact Morgan and Morgan?
If you believe you have a valid claim, fill out our free case evaluation form to get started. After reviewing your case, one of our legal representatives will contact you to discuss how to proceed.
How it works
It's easy to get started.
The Fee Is Free™. Only pay if we win.
Results may vary depending on your particular facts and legal circumstances.
With a free case evaluation, submitting your case is easy with Morgan & Morgan.
Our dedicated team gets to work investigating your claim.
If we take on the case, our team fights to get you the results you deserve.
stories that inspire and drive change
Results may vary depending on your particular facts and legal circumstances. Based on Select nationwide reviews