Call Us Today - It's Free!
click here to call 24/7 icon
person holding a pen and a clipboard

Massachusetts (MA) Overtime Labor & Pay Laws

Massachusetts (MA) Overtime Labor & Pay Laws


Rating Overview

five stars
based on1492 reviews
Contact us today
  • $15 Billion+ Won
  • 800+ Lawyers Nationwide
  • The Fee is FreeTM, Only Pay If We Win
  • America’s Largest Injury Law Firm
  • Protecting Families Since 1988

Massachusetts (MA) Overtime Labor & Pay Laws

Understanding wage theft can be a complex issue, and sometimes it might be difficult to tell if you’re a victim. But you should receive every cent of the wages you have rightfully earned.

Our attorneys in Massachusetts are prepared to pursue your wage and employment concerns. Here are some of the federal and Massachusetts laws that might be affecting you, and what you can do to help your wallet.

Free Case Evaluation

Tell us about your situation so we can get started fighting for you. We tailor each case to meet our clients' needs.


Morgan & Morgan

  • Overtime Law in Massachusetts

    The Fair Labor Standards Act states that most employees should receive 1.5 times their regular pay rate for hours worked over 40 in a single workweek. Massachusetts overtime law does not require overtime pay for hours worked over 8 in a single workweek.

    Under Massachusetts overtime law, most employees must be paid one and one-half times their regular hourly rate for all hours worked in excess of 40 hours in a given work week. State law does not require overtime after eight hours in a day.

    Some workers, including professionals, executives and seasonal employees, are exempt from overtime pay. If an employee is exempt from overtime pay under Massachusetts overtime law, he or she should consult federal overtime law to determine whether they are owed overtime. For more information on overtime law in Massachusetts, visit the Mass. Office of Labor and Workforce Development.

  • Minimum Wage

    The minimum wage in Massachusetts is $11 per hour starting January 1, 2017 for most workers. Some, like those working in agriculture, are subject to different standards.

    The tipped minimum wage in Massachusetts is currently $3.35 per hour. A tipped employee can be defined as a worker who makes more than $20 per month in tips. Tipped employees must be informed of the tipped minimum wage law, must make at least the minimum wage when combining tips and direct wages, and must retain all tips or have their tips distributed through a legitimate tip-pooling system.

    This means your employer must make up for any wages you don’t recover from your tips. For more information, view the Massachusetts Department of Labor's overtime and minimum wage page.

  • What Should I Do If I'm a Victim of Wage Theft?

    Losing out on your hard-earned cash is unacceptable, and if it’s been happening to you, our attorneys in Massachusetts might be able to help. Fill out our risk-free, no-cost case evaluation form to start seeking answers today.

Last updated on May 31, 2023