- Minimum Wage Claim & Unpaid Wages Lawyers
- Unpaid Overtime Wages Lawyers
- Overtime Pay Calculator
- FLSA Misclassification of Employees as Exempt Cases
- Worker & Employee Rights Lawyers
- FLSA: Learn About The Law That Protects Workers' Rights
- Pennsylvania (PA) Overtime Labor & Pay Laws
- Massachusetts (MA) Overtime Labor & Pay Laws
- Arkansas Overtime Labor & Pay Laws
- New York State Overtime Labor & Pay Laws
- Kentucky (KY) Overtime Labor & Pay Laws
- Tennessee (TN) Overtime Labor & Pay Laws
- Mississippi (MS) Overtime Labor & Pay Laws
- Georgia (GA) Overtime Labor & Pay Laws
- Florida (FL) Overtime Labor & Pay Laws
- FLSA Liquidated Damages & Back Pay Lawyers
- Independent Contractor Misclassification & Overtime Pay
- Overtime Workers Comp for Disaster Relief
- Health Care Workers May Face Wage Theft
- What Is Chinese Overtime?
- What Is the Law on Overtime Pay?
Alabama Overtime Labor & Pay
Alabama does not have specific state laws governing overtime or the minimum wage. Our attorneys can help you understand what this means, and how federal laws like the Fair Labor Standards Act affects you. Contact us today.
To read more about the law in Alabama, please visit the Alabama Department of Labor website. Here are some common Fair Labor Standards Act metrics to determine if you’ve lost out on your wages.
The FLSA stipulates the minimum wage is $7.25 per hour, and $2.13 per hour tipped for employees making more than $30 a month in tips. This minimum wage cannot be affected by a tip pool, paying for your uniform, or any other reduction. In short, you must be making $7.25 an hour.
For non-exempt employees, every hour over 40 hours worked each week must be compensated at the rate of time-and-a-half your normal rate, according to the FLSA. This is accrued on a workweek basis, defined as seven consecutive 24-hour periods. The FLSA does not require overtime pay for work on Saturday, Sunday, or holidays.
To this end, employees are required to keep records related to an employee’s identity, address, and specifics of employment including hours worked, how the work is paid for by the employer, and the wages paid each pay period. If your employer isn’t keeping these records or is keeping them poorly, that might be a warning sign.
What if I Think I’m a Victim?
Our attorneys in Alabama are well-versed in FLSA standards and what’s required of employers when it comes to compensating their employees. Fill out our free, no-risk case evaluation today.