Call Us Today - It's Free!
click here to call 24/7 icon
person holding a pen and a clipboard

Mississippi (MS) Overtime Labor & Pay Laws

Mississippi (MS) Overtime Labor & Pay Laws


Rating Overview

five stars
based on1492 reviews
Contact us today
  • $15 Billion+ Won
  • 800+ Lawyers Nationwide
  • The Fee is FreeTM, Only Pay If We Win
  • America’s Largest Injury Law Firm
  • Protecting Families Since 1988

Mississippi (MS) Overtime Labor & Pay Laws

Because Mississippi does not have state-specific laws regarding overtime and minimum wage, Mississippi employers must follow federal wage and hour laws as established by the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA.)

Federal Minimum Wage

Established on July 24, 2009, the federal minimum wage is currently set at $7.25 per hour. If a state does not have its own minimum wage, like Mississippi, employers must adhere to the federal minimum wage when paying employees.

Federal Tipped Minimum Wage

Under the FLSA, employers may receive a tip credit towards the satisfaction of the minimum wage for tipped employee. The federal minimum wage for tipped employees is set at $2.13 per hour.

Federal Overtime Law

Non-exempt employees are entitled to a pay rate of time-and-a-half for any hours worked over 40 in a single workweek. Employers who do not pay the legally required overtime rate may be found in violation of the FLSA.

You Don’t Have to Stand for Wage Theft

Employees deserve to be paid the wages they have rightfully earned. If you are a Mississippi employee and your employer fails to pay federal minimum wage, or does not pay the overtime rate for hours worked over 40 per workweek, you may have a wage theft case on your hands. Contact us today by filling out our free, no-risk case evaluation form. You may be entitled to compensation if your employer is found to be evading the FLSA.

Free Case Evaluation

Tell us about your situation so we can get started fighting for you. We tailor each case to meet our clients' needs.
Last updated on May 31, 2023