Arkansas Labor Laws
Whether you’ve been wrongfully let go from your job or you’re currently being discriminated against in your place of work, unfair labor practices can have a real impact on your mindset, your family, and your career as a whole. If your rights as an employee have been violated, there’s something you can do about it: contact Morgan & Morgan.
Since our inception in 1988, we’ve always treated our clients like family. We fight to get them every cent they deserve, and we don’t get paid unless we win. Fill out a free case evaluation and see how our Arkansas lawyers can help you.
The sudden loss of your job can bring on a mountain of stress, but if you were fired illegally, you can take legal action. Wrongful termination is often based on discrimination. In Arkansas, your employer cannot legally fire you based on any of these characteristics:
- National Origin
In addition, wrongful termination can be the result of retaliation. For example, your employer might fire you for whistleblowing or taking part in an investigation into the company. This is against the law and grounds for legal action.
If any of these factors may have influenced your employer’s decision to let you go, our labor and employment attorneys are here to help.
It’s important to recognize when boundaries have been crossed. Although workplace harassment can take many forms, these are some of the more common scenarios:
- Teasing or bullying
- Slurs, insults, or offensive language
- Posting, messaging, or forwarding inappropriate content
- Unwanted physical contact
- Comments about a person’s body
- Obscene gestures
Workplace harassment can make you uncomfortable or even afraid to go to work. Offensive language and gestures can be just as damaging as physical actions, and they shouldn’t go unpunished.
Wage & Overtime Laws
It’s important to recognize when your employer is violating your rights as an employee, and the responsibility of defending those rights shouldn’t fall on your shoulders alone. Remember these important points, and contact Morgan & Morgan if you might have a case:
- If you work at a company that has four or more employees, your employer is required to pay you 1.5 times your normal rate for any amount of time you work over 40 hours.
- If an employer provides a break period of 20 minutes or less, the employee must be paid for that time. Meal periods of 30 minutes or longer can be unpaid, but only if the employee is relieved of all duties relating to the job during that time.
- As of 2020, the minimum wage in Arkansas is $10 per hour.
Unfortunately, employers don’t always play by the rules. If you’re being denied overtime or forced to work through an unpaid lunch every day, contact our Arkansas wage and hour attorneys.
How Morgan & Morgan Can Help
At Morgan & Morgan, our mission is to deliver the best results for our clients. Our team is available 24/7, and we don’t get paid unless we win your case. Across all of our practice areas, we’ve won our clients over $7 billion.
Our Arkansas attorneys specialize in workplace harassment, wrongful termination, employment discrimination, and other labor disputes. Fill out a free, no-obligation case evaluation to get started.
Offices near You
Current call wait: 10 seconds