- Minimum Wage Claim & Unpaid Wages Lawyers
- Unpaid Overtime Wages Lawyers
- Overtime Pay Calculator
- FLSA Misclassification of Employees as Exempt Cases
- Worker & Employee Rights Lawyers
- FLSA: Learn About The Law That Protects Workers' Rights
- Pennsylvania (PA) Overtime Labor & Pay Laws
- Massachusetts (MA) Overtime Labor & Pay Laws
- Alabama Overtime Labor & Pay Laws
- New York State Overtime Labor & Pay Laws
- Kentucky (KY) Overtime Labor & Pay Laws
- Tennessee (TN) Overtime Labor & Pay Laws
- Mississippi (MS) Overtime Labor & Pay Laws
- Georgia (GA) Overtime Labor & Pay Laws
- Florida (FL) Overtime Labor & Pay Laws
- FLSA Liquidated Damages & Back Pay Lawyers
- Independent Contractor Misclassification & Overtime Pay
- Overtime Workers Comp for Disaster Relief
- Health Care Workers May Face Wage Theft
- What Is Chinese Overtime?
- What Is the Law on Overtime Pay?
Do you think you’ve experienced wage theft or abuse of overtime? Our attorneys in Arkansas are knowledgeable about the state’s wage and hour laws and might be able to help you seek compensation for your lost time. Contact us today.
Arkansas Minimum Wage Law
The Arkansas minimum wage rests at $8.50 per hour, effective Jan. 1, 2017. Minimum wage law in Arkansas applies to employers with four or more workers. The Arkansas minimum wage is slightly above the federal rate. Tipped employees may be paid $2.63 per hour, as long as the direct wage plus tips equals at least the minimum wage.
Overtime Law in AR
Most Arkansas workers are entitled to time-and-a-half pay (1.5 times the worker's regular rate) when working more than 40 hours in a workweek. However, some Arkansas workers may be exempt from overtime pay.
Breaks and Meal Periods
Breaks lasting less than 20 minutes must be compensated. Employers are not required, by either federal or Arkansas wage and hour law, to give meal or rest breaks to their employees.
Direct Deposit and Arkansas Employers
Arkansas employers have the right to refuse the direct deposit payment method. Employers do not have the authority to require their workers to use this payment method. Employees can decline the use of direct deposit by providing a written, signed letter stating that they do not wish to use direct deposit.
Wage Payment Law in Arkansas
Terminated employees must receive their final wages within 7 days of the termination, upon demand. In all other situations, the worker must receive their wages on the next payday.
These are just a few of the laws governing Arkansas employees under state law and the federal Fair Labor Standards Act. More might apply to your unique situation.
What if I Think I’m a Victim?
Wage theft in Arkansas can be daunting, but our attorneys are here to help. Fill out our free case evaluation form today if you believe you’ve been wronged and you’re interested in exploring your options for justice.