West Virginia Driving Laws: What Do I Need to Know?
- The Fee Is Free™. Only pay if we win.
- America's Largest Injury Law Firm
- Protecting Families Since 1988
- $15 Billion+ Won
- 800+ Lawyers Nationwide
Free Case Evaluation
The attorneys featured above are licensed in Florida. For a full list of attorneys in your state please visit our attorney page.
West Virginia Driving Laws
Traffic collisions are one of the most stressful events that anyone can experience. When you have been involved in a car accident, it is normal to feel stressed and overwhelmed.
Accident victims usually experience more than just the physical repercussions of their injuries. In fact, many injured people experience mounting medical costs, lost income, and other financial consequences.
You may wonder if you can file a personal injury claim to recover compensation from the person who caused your accident. The good news is that you can pursue financial recovery with the help of a skilled personal injury attorney.
But the laws regarding car accident claims are different in each state. When you need the West Virginia driving laws explained, reach out to the skilled legal team at Morgan & Morgan.
As America’s largest personal injury firm, we are familiar with the driving statutes in every locality, including West Virginia. Having the West Virginia driving laws explained to you will ensure that you fully understand your legal rights and options.
Do not hesitate in the aftermath of a car crash. Reach out to the accomplished legal experts at Morgan & Morgan.
Our firm offers no-cost case evaluations to new clients. Fill out the contact form on our website to arrange your legal consultation today.
West Virginia Driving Laws Explained
There are many driving laws that are unique to West Virginia. But other traffic statutes are similar to other states.
In West Virginia, the Division of Motor Vehicles maintains a point system. This system is intended to identify and track drivers who present a risk to others.
The state keeps ongoing records of residents’ driving conduct. They begin keeping the record after the first date of a moving violation.
These driving records display the nature of each violation and the date that it was committed. Depending on the severity of the violation, different point values are assigned.
If your record contains at least six points, the Division of Motor Vehicles will send a notice of warning. After twelve points, your driver’s license will be suspended.
This type of system can be confusing. If you are facing a license suspension, you may need the West Virginia driving laws explained.
Fortunately, there is a way to decrease the number of points on your license. If you complete a defensive driving course, three points will be removed from your record.
This training class lasts eight hours. Only those with eleven points or fewer are eligible to participate in the defensive driving course, and drivers can only participate once every other year.
Different traffic law violations result in different points. A few examples of pointed violations include:
- Illegally passing a school bus–6 points
- Driving recklessly–6 points
- Hit and run resulting in property damage–6 points
- Fleeing the scene of a crash–4 points
- Failure to yield–3 points
- Passing violations–3 points
- Speeding (5 mph-9 mph over)–2 points
- Failure to use a turn signal–2 points
These are only a few examples of violations that result in points on the driver’s record. When you need other violations of West Virginia driving laws explained, contact a skilled legal professional.
The legal team at Morgan & Morgan has years of experience protecting the interests of West Virginia drivers.
Proving Negligence in West Virginia Car Accident Cases
It is important to have West Virginia driving laws explained in the aftermath of a collision. If another person’s careless or dangerous actions caused you to sustain an injury, you have the right to seek compensation.
A trustworthy personal injury lawyer will collect evidence in your car accident case to fight effectively for you. Most car accident claims in West Virginia revolve around the legal concept of “negligence.”
There are four elements needed to prove negligence in any traffic accident claim:
Duty of Care
To recover compensation, the claimant must show that the at-fault party owed them a duty of care. This is a legal duty to act in a reasonably safe manner.
Drivers have a duty of care to others on the roadways. They have a responsibility to operate their vehicle in a legal and safe way.
Breach of Duty of Care
Another element of negligence is breach of duty. In a successful negligence lawsuit, the plaintiff must prove that the other party breached their duty of care.
In the case of car accidents, this may mean that the at-fault driver operated their vehicle carelessly or recklessly. Making illegal turns or maneuvers counts as a breach of duty.
The relationship between the at-fault driver’s breach of duty and the plaintiff’s damages must be causal. In other words, it must be the case that the liable party’s actions resulted in harm to the claimant.
If something else caused the plaintiff’s damages, then the defendant cannot be shown to be negligent.
Lastly, the plaintiff needs to show that the defendant’s breach of duty resulted in actual harm. If a driver makes a careless maneuver and no one is harmed, they cannot be held liable through a negligence lawsuit.
The state can hold drivers accountable when they violate traffic laws. But no private party can seek financial compensation unless they have suffered actual harm.
Having the West Virginia driving laws explained will help you to understand the viability of your car accident case. To discuss the specifics of your injury claim, reach out to the seasoned legal experts at Morgan & Morgan.
Our West Virginia attorneys know how to recover the money that traffic accident victims need.
Typical Damages in West Virginia Injury Cases
In the aftermath of an accident, you may wonder what types of compensation you can recover through a personal injury claim. The term for monetary payments in a personal injury or accident case is “damages.”
The types of damages you can secure will depend on the unique circumstances of your case. Typically, victims are awarded two types of damages in West Virginia traffic accident cases.
The primary types of damages are “economic” and “non-economic.”
These payments are intended to compensate the injury or accident victim for the direct monetary losses stemming from their collision. Victims usually face more than just the physical and emotional turmoil caused by their injuries.
Mounting financial expenses often follow a car accident. Claimants can seek recovery for these costs.
Some common examples of economic damages include compensation for:
- Repairing or replacing damaged property (including vehicles)
- Lost income and wages due to missed workdays
- Current medical bills and expenses
- Anticipated future medical costs
- Long-term loss of earning capacity
Any type of direct monetary loss can be claimed as economic damages in your personal injury case. When you consult with a knowledgeable attorney at Morgan & Morgan, they will examine the facts of your case thoroughly.
Most injury victims underestimate the total economic damages from their accident. It is important to take everything into account so that you do not agree to an inadequate settlement.
Not every type of loss is financial. Some of the most challenging consequences of an injury are not monetary in nature.
For instance, many injury victims have long-term medical issues. If you have sustained a back injury, you may not be able to sit or stand comfortably.
If you have suffered a traumatic brain injury, you might have problems with cognition or memory. These harms are very real, even though they do not involve the loss of money.
Through a car accident claim, you can seek compensation for these intangible losses. Some of the most typical examples of non-economic damages include:
- Physical pain and suffering
- Emotional difficulties and stress
- Mental trauma and distress
- Inability to engage in enjoyable activities
- Decrease in quality of life
In some cases, car accident injuries are fatal. When someone is killed in a West Virginia traffic collision, the surviving family can seek compensation through a wrongful death case.
This type of tort claim allows grieving families to recover burial expenses, funeral costs, and more.
No matter what the circumstances of your car accident claim in West Virginia, it is vital to contact a legal expert. Specific driving laws in West Virginia can influence the strength of your case in many ways.
The team at Morgan & Morgan will ensure that you understand the statutes that could influence your claim. When you need the West Virginia driving laws explained after an accident, look no further than the firm of Morgan & Morgan.
Recent verdicts & settlements
Scroll down for more
How it works
It's easy to get started.
The Fee Is Free™. Only pay if we win.
Results may vary depending on your particular facts and legal circumstances.
With a free case evaluation, submitting your case is easy with Morgan & Morgan.
Our dedicated team gets to work investigating your claim.
If we take on the case, our team fights to get you the results you deserve.
stories that inspire and drive change
Results may vary depending on your particular facts and legal circumstances. Based on Select nationwide reviews
Get answers to commonly asked questions about our legal services and learn how we may assist you with your case.
Morgan & Morgan
How Long Is a License Suspension in West Virginia?
Once a driver accumulates twelve or more points as the result of driving law violations, they may face the suspension of their license. The length of the suspension will depend on the number of points they have accumulated.
Suspension time lengths are as follows:
- 12-13 points result in 30 days of suspension
- 14-15 points result in 45 days of suspension
- 16-17 points result in 60 days of suspension
- 18-19 points result in 90 days of suspension
Drivers with more than twenty points face an indefinite suspension until they reduce their points to eleven or fewer. If you have been involved in a car accident and have points on your license, it is vital to speak with a skilled attorney.
How Will an Attorney Help After a Car Accident?
When you have been injured because of another person’s negligence, an attorney will work tirelessly to get the money that you deserve. Hiring a legal expert at Morgan & Morgan will ensure that you have the best chance of recovering compensation.
Our skilled legal team will:
- Collect evidence in your case
- Speak with expert witnesses, if necessary
- Review police accident reports
- Examine relevant medical records
- Negotiate with insurance providers
- And more
We will build a persuasive legal argument to secure maximum financial recovery for you.
Morgan & Morgan Is on Your Side
No matter what the circumstances of your West Virginia car accident may be, Morgan & Morgan can help. Since our founding, we have successfully won and settled more than a million cases.
As a result, our attorneys have recovered $15 billion in financial recovery for our clients. When you need the best legal representation available, look no further.
Complete the simple contact form on the Morgan & Morgan website to schedule a completely free legal consultation. Let our team fight to get the money that you deserve!