24 hours / 7 days a week
877.667.4265

Statute of Limitations

Wrongful Death Statute of Limitations

With every lawsuit, there is a specified time period in which a claim must be filed. This time limit is called the statute of limitations, and it may be different for each state and each type of lawsuit. Once this specified time period expires, the courts no longer have the jurisdiction to punish violators and offer compensation to victims, and lawsuits may no longer be filed (except under certain circumstances).

In Florida, the statute of limitations for filing a wrongful death claim is two years from the date of death. In other words, if a loved one passes away because of another's recklessness or negligence on July 1, 2012, you must file a Florida wrongful death claim by July 1, 2014. Failing to file a claim within Florida's wrongful death statute of limitations may prohibit the deceased's family from ever recovering compensation for their loved one’s death.

Very few circumstances allow an individual to pursue a wrongful death claim in Florida after the statute of limitations has expired. Therefore, it is important to file your claim within two years of the death to ensure you are able to seek wrongful death damages. The Florida wrongful death attorneys at Morgan and Morgan can guide you through the legal process. Do not hesitate to contact us today.

Free Case Evaluation
Fill out this form for a FREE, Immediate, Case Evaluation

By submitting this form I agree to the Terms of Use

Serving All of Florida, Georgia, Mississippi, Tennessee, Kentucky & New York